County Map

County Websites List

MAC Regions

The Michigan Association of Counties is governed by a 16-member Board of Directors elected by the general membership. Each of the six regions below elect 2 members to the board, who join three at-large members and a member from Wayne County.

MAC Region Map shaded - July 2017


The county names of Michigan

The map below showing the lingual backgrounds of Michigan's county names was constructed by Alex Hill, a Michigan State University graduate who is pursuing graduate studies at Wayne State. For more information on Hill, visit his website.

Etymologies of Michigan Counties

Alcona County Alger County Allegan County Alpena County Antrim County Arenac County Baraga County Barry County Bay County Benzie County Berrien County Branch County Calhoun County Cass County Charlevoix County Cheboygan County Chippewa County Clare County Clinton County Crawford County Delta County Dickinson County Eaton County Emmet County Genesee County Gladwin County Gogebic County Grand Traverse County Gratiot County Hillsdale County Houghton County Huron County Ingham County Ionia County Iosco County Iron County Isabella County Jackson County Kalamazoo County Kalkaska County Kent County Keweenaw County Lake County Lapeer County Leelanau County Lenawee County Livingston County Luce County Mackinac County Macomb County Manistee County Marquette County Mason County Mecosta County Menominee County Midland County Missaukee County Monroe County Montcalm County Montmorency County Muskegon County Newaygo  County Oakland County Oceana County Ogemaw County Ontonagon County Osceola County Oscoda County Otsego County Ottawa County Presque Isle County Roscommon County Saginaw County Sanilac County Schoolcraft County Shiawasee County St. Clair County St. Joseph County Tuscola County Van Buren County Washtenaw County Wayne County Wexford County

Michigan Association of Counties
110 W. Michigan Ave., Suite 200
Lansing, Michigan 48933

(800) 258-1152
(517) 372-5374
(517) 482-4599 Fax